Mirror Pond on Mount Taibo in Shanxi -Master Hsu-Yun


Mirror Pond on Mount Taibo in Shanxi

by Master Hsu-Yun

The water and my mind have both settled down
Into perfect stillness.
Sun and moon shine bright in it.
At night I see in the surfaceThe enormous face of my old familiar moon.
I don’t think you’ve ever met the source of this reflection.
All shrillness fades into the sound of silence.
But now and then a puff of mist floats across the mirror.It confuses me a little
But not enough to make me forget to forget my cares.

English version by

Zen Buddhist Order of Hsu Yun

Leave a Reply

